What Happens if I Get a DUI in the State of California?

Let's Get Started
On Your Case
530-882-0112

What Happens if I Get a DUI in the State of California?

There are few charges more damaging to a reputation and a life than those involving driving while under the influence of alcohol. If you are arrested and an officer finds that your blood alcohol content is .08% or higher, you will receive a DUI. That being said, the consequences of a DUI charge can significantly affect your life for years into the future, which is why you cannot afford to face them without a knowledgeable California criminal defense attorney on your side. Please continue reading to learn more about the penalties for DUI charges in California and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process ahead:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in California?

Even if this is only your first DUI offense in the state of California, you can expect to face a wide array of very serious penalties, including the following:

  • A six-month license suspension
  • Up to five years of probation
  • Anywhere between 96 hours to six months in county jail
  • You will have to participate in a court-approved DUI school
  • A base fine of about $390, plus additional court assessments
  • Being prohibited from driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, even .01%

What happens if I am convicted of a second DUI in California?

If you are charged with a second DUI offense in California, courts will now see you as a repeat offender, which means that you will face even harsher consequences than your first DUI conviction. The penalties for a second DUI in the state of California are as follows:

  • A two-year license suspension
  • Anywhere between 90 days and one year in county jail
  • Mandatory enrollment in a court-ordered DUI school
  • A potential $2,000 fine

Will I go to jail for a third DUI in California?

If this is your third or subsequent DUI offense, you can expect to face a wide array of potential penalties that will most likely affect your life for years into the future. The consequences of a third or subsequent DUI conviction in California are as follows:

  • Up to one year in county jail
  • A three-year driver’s license suspension
  • A potential $2,000 base fine
  • Probation
  • Mandatory enrollment in court-approved DUI program for at least 30 months

If you have any additional questions, simply give us a call today.

Contact our experienced California firm

Whether you’ve been injured in an accident due to negligence or you’ve been charged with a DUI, you cannot afford to proceed without strong legal representation at your side. Here at The Law Offices of Dale R. Gomes, we are dedicated to helping all those in need of an attorney who can efficiently fight for their rights. Contact our firm today so we can discuss your case.