What to Know About Receiving a Thanksgiving Eve DUI in California

Let's Get Started
On Your Case
530-882-0112

What to Know About Receiving a Thanksgiving Eve DUI in California

If law enforcement determines that your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit, 0.08% or greater, you can be charged with a DUI in California. It is best to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney if you have been charged with a DUI this Thanksgiving Eve. To learn more about the penalties of a first, second, and third offense DUI in California, continue reading. For assistance with your charges, give or firm a call to schedule your initial consultation.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in California?

You may face the following consequences if you have been caught with a BAC over the legal limit for the first time in California:

  • A period of 96 hours to 6 months in county jail
  • Probation from 3 to 5 years
  • A base fine of about $390 plus court assessments
  • Participation in a court-approved DUI school
  • A minimum 6-month driver’s license suspension
  • A requirement that you cannot drive with any amount of alcohol in your system

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in California?

If you have been convicted of a second-offense DUI within ten years of your first conviction, you will likely face the following penalties:

  • A period of 90 days to 1 year in county jail
  • A fine between $390 and $2,000
  • A suspended driver’s license for 2 years
  • Enrollment and participation in a court-approved DUI school

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DUI in California?

If you are facing charges of a third or subsequent DUI, you should be prepared to face severe consequences that may follow you for years to come. It is important that you reach out to a criminal defense attorney if you are facing penalties such as the following for a third-offense DUI:

  • A period of 120 days to 1 year in county jail
  • A fine between $390 and $2,000
  • A suspended driver’s license for 3 years
  • Participation in a court-approved DUI program for at least 30 months
  • Possible probation

If you are facing any of the above charges and consequences, it is important that you reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney for assistance. Our legal team is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, give our firm a call today. We are here to help.

Contact our experienced California firm

Whether you’ve been injured in an accident due to negligence or you’ve been charged with a crime, you cannot afford to proceed without strong legal representation at your side. Here at The Law Offices of Dale R. Gomes, we are dedicated to helping all those in need of an attorney who can efficiently fight for their rights. Contact our firm today so we can discuss your case.