What To Know About Labor Day Weekend DUI Penalties

Let's Get Started
On Your Case
530-882-0112

What To Know About Labor Day Weekend DUI Penalties

A person can be charged with a DUI if law enforcement determines their blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit which is 0.08% or greater in the state of California. If you have been charged with a DUI over the Labor Day weekend, you may be wondering what to expect regarding the consequences of your charges. Continue reading to learn the penalties for first, second, and third-offense DUIs.

If you require assistance with our charges, it is best to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will walk you through the legal process ahead. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, give our firm a call to schedule your initial consultation. We will walk you through how we can effectively fight for your rights in court.

First Offense DUI Penalties

If you have been caught with a BAC over the legal limit for the first time, you may face the following consequences:

  • A period of 96 hours to 6 months in county jail
  • Probation from 3 to 5 years
  • A base fine of about $390 plus court assessments
  • Participation in a court-approved DUI school
  • A minimum 6-month driver’s license suspension
  • A requirement that you cannot drive with any amount of alcohol in your system

Second Offense DUI Consequences

Drivers who are convicted of a second-offense DUI within ten years of their first conviction can expect to face the following penalties:

  • A period of 90 days to 1 year in county jail
  • A fine between $390 and $2,000
  • A suspended driver’s license for 2 years
  • Enrollment and participation in a court-approved DUI school

Third or Subsequent DUI Penalties

Drivers who have been charged with a third of subsequence DUI will face the following consequences that may follow them for years to come. It is important to retain the services of an experienced attorney to face charges as severe as these:

  • A period of 120 days to 1 year in county jail
  • A fine between $390 and $2,000
  • A suspended driver’s license for 3 years
  • Participation in a court-approved DUI program for at least 30 months
  • Possible probation

If you are facing any of the above consequences, it is best to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney today to learn how we can assist you. Give our firm a call to discuss your situation further.

Contact our experienced California firm

Whether you’ve been injured in an accident due to negligence or you’ve been charged with a crime, you cannot afford to proceed without strong legal representation at your side. Here at The Law Offices of Dale R. Gomes, we are dedicated to helping all those in need of an attorney who can efficiently fight for their rights. Contact our firm today so we can discuss your case.