Taking a trip across California state lines is generally a good time. Whether visiting family or traveling to a cool vacation spot, it’s important to enjoy yourself. However, when your good time turns into an arrest for driving under the influence, knowing how to proceed is critical. Unfortunately, getting an out-of-state DUI can be an incredibly confusing legal matter. As such, it’s in your best interest to keep reading as you’ll discover what you must know and how a DUI lawyer in Sacramento, California can help you navigate these charges upon your return to the Golden State.
What Constitutes a DUI?
In the United States, the legal limit is used to describe when someone becomes legally intoxicated. This is generally when they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. However, anyone with a detectable amount of alcohol in their system can face a DUI charge if the officer believes it impacts their ability to operate a vehicle.
How Does California Handle an Out-of-State DUI?
If you are charged with a DUI while out of California, you may be unfamiliar with what will happen. First and foremost, California is a Driver’s License Compact (DLC) member. This is an agreement between all but five states to share information regarding driver violations from the state where it occurred to the driver’s home state,
Generally, your license will be seized and replaced with a temporary one that will expire in 30 days. Additionally, your DUI will be treated as though it occurred in California, so you will face corresponding penalties for the charges you endure out of state.
As such, you can face the following penalties for a first offense under California Law:
- A minimum of three days in jail with the possibility of a six-month maximum
- Probation for at least three years
- A six-month license suspension
- Mandatory participation in a DUI education program
- Hefty fees and fines
It’s important to note that with each DUI charge you face, the penalties will grow more severe. For example, if you are convicted a second time, under California law you will face a mandatory minimum of 90 days in jail.
Do I Need a Lawyer?
Facing an out-of-state DUI can be an incredibly confusing and complex issue, even more so than being charged in your home state. As such, it’s critical to ensure you consult an attorney as soon as possible to discuss your legal options. Unfortunately, trying to navigate this process on your own can be incredibly complex, and one wrong misstep can land you with an unfavorable outcome.
At the Law Offices of Dale R. Gomes, we understand how life-altering a DUI charge can be. That’s why our team is committed to helping you through these complex times. When you need help, contact us today to discuss your circumstances with a member of our team.