Why Do I Need to Call the Police After an Accident in California?

Let's Get Started
On Your Case

Why Do I Need to Call the Police After an Accident in California?

police lights

When you’re involved in an accident, you may not think it’s necessary to call the police, especially if it’s seemingly minor. However, it’s always in your best interest to contact the police, as they can file a report. This is vital if you want to file a lawsuit. If injured in an accident, it’s necessary to understand how to proceed. Keep reading to learn how a Sacramento auto accident lawyer can assist you through this process.

Do I Really Need to Call the Police After an Accident?

Much like other states, California requires those involved in accidents to file a police report if a party is injured or killed or the damage to a vehicle exceeds $1,000. As some injuries do not present themselves immediately, and you may not be able to accurately estimate the extent of the damage, it’s in your best interest to contact the police. In California, you only have 24 hours after a collision to report it to the police, but it’s in your best interest to contact law enforcement at the scene of the accident immediately following the crash.

Not only will calling the police help to ensure you adhere to the law, but it will also make the scene of the accident safer. Unfortunately, when a collision occurs, it can lead to traffic and unsafe conditions as passing cars try to evade the scene. However, a police presence can mitigate the risk of another accident, as an officer can help direct traffic. This also allows the police to safely conduct an investigation while letting you take photos of the scene, exchange information with the other driver, and talk to witnesses.

What Should I Do When I’m Injured?

If you’re injured, the most important thing you should do is seek emergency medical treatment as soon as possible. In most instances, this includes seeing emergency medical technicians at the scene of the accident and following up with your primary care provider. If you do not see a medical professional, the defendant may claim that you did not mitigate damages or that the injuries were not bad enough to warrant compensation if you didn’t see a doctor.

You should also keep all documents related to your accident. This includes insurance claims, medical records, and the police report filed at the scene, which can provide useful information about the accident. These can be necessary to help prove that the other party’s negligence is the reason for the accident and to help you receive compensation for the damages sustained.

When injured, the Law Offices of Dale R. Gomes can help. Our dedicated legal team understands the complexities of this legal matter. Contact us today to learn more about how we can fight for the compensation you deserve.